Sneak Peek: My own kids

So, everyone always mentions how since I am a child photographer, I must have tons of great photos of my own kids. The truth is, it is exactly the opposite! Taking photos of my own kids has got to be one of the hardest things for me to do.

With other children, I am this new person…this new voice…this new camera. Children are interested in me which makes them look at me with those big wondering eyes. I can call their name and they will look up. I can play peek-a-boo with them and they laugh. I can ask questions about princesses or super heroes and they will light up inside to tell me about their favorite characters. Not so much with my kids! They see me everyday so I am not exciting anymore. They don’t care about my little games. So, you see…taking photos of my own kids is not an easy task and not one that I like to tackle often.

That being said, my nanny was on vacation the first half of this week so while I was being Mommy full-time, I decided to take the camera along on one of our excursions. Surprisingly enough, we did manage to spend a nice couple hours together…playing and taking photos…without killing each other! I am convinced it was a miracle! So, here are my favorites from our little mini photo session this week.

Leave a Reply

